Borneo Travel Advisor and Visit Malaysia Year 2014 – part 1

Visit Malaysia Year 2014 (VMY2014) kicked off 13 days ago, I determine to update myself today of the progress of VMY2014. This is important for I am myself one of the many certified HOSTs from Sabah, Borneo. I am given my certification after attending the training seminar organized by the Ministry of Tourism and Culture Malaysia on November 26th, 2013 at Berjaya Palace Hotel, Kota Kinabalu. And for your information, the content of my blog is focus on information in Sabah & Sarawak, Borneo.

Attending We are the host course on November 26, 2013 at Berjaya Palace Hotel, Kota Kinabalu

As usual, I started my research via my favorite internet search engine i.e. Google! Let me share with my findings 🙂

VISIT MALAYSIA YEAR 2014 MASCOT: THE PROBOSCIS MONKEY

The Proboscis Monkey of Sabah has been chosen to be the mascot of this grand celebration event. The Ministry of Tourism and Culture, Malaysia has decided upon one of the most endangered of animals listed in the International Union for Conservation of Nature (IUCN)’s Red List of Threatened Species. I think this is such a brilliant idea because our country has commitment to the protection of its ecological treasures and in particular, the conservation of its many indigenous animals provide a platform of opportunity to share with the world its many fascinating creatures that are so often hidden from the general public. Taken from The Star online news published on January 1st, the mascot appeared at LCCT airport Kuala Lumpur, welcoming guests who arrived in Malaysia.

(Read the news click here)

Picture courtesy to The Star

 

This entry was posted in Culture & tradition, Entertainments, Festivals in Sabah, From the editor, State of Sabah, State of Sarawak and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

